

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck

Dr. Deena Horst

Melanie Haas District 2

Dennis Hershberger

Michelle Dombrosky

Ann E. Mah

Jim Porter

Cathy Hopkins District 5

Betty J. Arnold District 8 Jim McNiece

SUMMARY OF THE MARCH 2023 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Action

- Approved 6 public school district ESSER II change requests, 34 ESSER III expenditure plan applications and 15 ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved a motion to ask that SB 66, which would enter Kansas in the Interstate Teaching Mobility
 Compact, be signed into law. Additionally, the Board voted to have KSDE propose amendments to
 licensing regulations to make them consistent with the compact.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of Accredited to USD 208 Trego Community; USD 244 Burlington; USD 249 Frontenac; USD 289 Wellsville; USD 375 Circle; USD 378 Riley County; USD 383; Manhattan-Ogden; USD 448 Inman; USD 477 Ingalls; USD 505 Chetopa-St. Paul; USD 506 Labette County; and Z0064-9898 Annoor Islamic School and award the status of conditionally accredited to USD 349 Stafford.
- In two separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

Presentations

- Dr. Randy Watson presented his monthly Commissioner's Report to the Board in which he stressed an urgency for our school districts to raise their expectations.
- Jay Scott (KSDE) presented 20 systems (18 public and 2 private) school systems to be approved for accreditation status at the April 2023 meeting. Those systems are USD 204 Bonner Springs; USD 230 Spring Hill; USD 239 North Ottawa County; USD 252 Southern Lyon County; USD 294 Oberlin; USD 300 Comanche County; USD 346 Jayhawk; USD 356 Conway Springs; USD 359 Argonia; USD 364 Marysville; USD 365 Garnett; USD 366 Woodson County; USD 379 Clay County; USD 464 Tonganoxie; USD 474 Haviland; USD 481 Rural Vista; USD 489 Hays; USD 495 Ft. Larned; Conditionally Accredited Z0060 Accelerated Schools of Overland Park.
- Dr. Craig Neuenswander updated the State Board on the current Kansas legislative session.
- The Board received an updated draft of proposed regulation changes from Scott Gordon, general counsel for KSDE, that will need to be made to reflect the newly established graduation requirements. These regulation changes will be up for approval in April.
- The Board received presentations from KSDE staff on Math IXL (Dr. Ben Proctor, Dr. David Fernkopf and Dr. Robyn Kelso) and Assessments (Dr. Ben Proctor and Beth Fultz).

• The Board received a presentation from four students of Basehor-Linwood High School's Innovation Academy and their teacher on their time machine project done in partnership with Restored Aircraft and Siemens.

Discussions

• Board members participated in a retreat held at the Kansas State High School Activities Association offices that was facilitated by Dr. Doug Moeckel of the Kansas Association of School Boards. The focus of the retreat was to review the Board's mission and vision statements.

<u>Next Regular Meeting</u> – Tuesday, April 11th (regular location – Landon State Office Building) and Wednesday, April 12th (Board will make visits to the Kansas State School for the Blind and the Kansas School for the Deaf)